Waiting For a Green Light

I’ve officially done all I can. The fate of Quill Cottage Wildlife Rehabilitation is now in the hands of the state of Ohio.

I somehow was lucky enough to land Dr. Melanie Butera as my vet partner, and once she finished the paper I needed from her end, my entire application packet shipped off to the Department of Natural Resources in Columbus. All I can do now is wait.

JUST KIDDING! There’s still so much work to do. I’ve said all along that it doesn’t make sense to start building the actual rehab until I am sure I will be allowed to use things, but there’s so much I have left to buy to properly outfit a fully-functioning rehab that I put together an Amazon wishlist that folks JUST LIKE YOU can help me get the items I need to get off the ground. (Please!)

And if you’re not able to help financially, you can definitely help by telling your friends and family what’s going on here. Let me be clear, Ohio gives me exactly $0.00 to help fund this rehab. Everything I need is going to be completely out of pocket until I can get the non-profit part off the ground and the grants start rolling in. Even then, non-profit means no profit, so I’m relying fully on the kindness of strangers to help me do what I need to take care of these orphaned babies. Once I’ve got the green-light from the state (we’re thinking positively, here, no “ifs”!) I’ll have a website up and running to help with the official-ness of the situation, but again, I need to proceed with caution while things are still doing the Red Tape Rhumba.

For those who followed the chicken drama between us and the neighbors, I want to assure everyone that I have the city’s blessing to move forward with a wildlife rehab. In writing. All I need is the green light from Ohio and we’re in the animal saving business! Huzzah!



2 responses to “Waiting For a Green Light”

  1. Yay!! I can’t wait for you to get the green light!

    Like

Leave a comment

About Nicole

A writer since she was old enough to hold a crayon, Nicole spends a large portion of her day communing with the voices in her head. When she’s not writing, she’s likely engaging in some other creative outlet, such as gardening, cooking, painting, or screaming into the void. She lives at Quill Cottage with her husband and more animals than the city would probably like.

Newsletter